Bubba Badger

I’ve met numerous people who have a “Bubba” in the family. Usually it’s their uncle or their dog. My little sister KC was fortunate enough to be dubbed this nick name when she was just a wee little baby. She is the youngest, so we always called her KC Baby – sloppy language progression occurred and KC Baby transformed to KC Bubba. I think everyone has some mental imagery associated with someone called Bubba. And it is probably pretty far off from what my sister actually looks like. I imagine this is one of the reasons why she has grown to hate this nickname. In addition, Bubba rhymes beautifully with Flubba. Making for an even greater nickname – Flubba Bubba. And then KC decided to become the greatest rower on the east coast and grow a six pack and thighs of steels. Ain’t no Flubba on that Bubba anymore.

KC is going to be coming to UW in the fall to test out her superb rowing abilities as an NCAA athlete. For the record, she is not the first one in the family. I, too, was an NCAA rower. And no, I don’t really feel that quitting two months into the season disqualifies me from exploiting that title to the fullest. After all, I was able to use the Fetzer Center for free printing for a good six months after quitting before anyone noticed…

I have high hopes for KC though. She will probably kill it while on UW’s Rowing team. She will love the shiny new shoes, free laundry, free Powerade, and the mandatory two hour study table………..

I am pretty jacked about KC coming to UW.

Image

Hm. That’s putting it lightly.

I AM FLIPPING FREAKING OUT EXCITED ABOUT MY BABY SISTER COMING TO UW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It’s kind of unfair how cool and witty she is. All jealousy aside, at least my closet just doubled in size. I’ll have to see if the dorm is willing to make a duplicate key for me…

In addition, do you think they let siblings on Housing Food Accounts? Cuz I could really go for some Ed’s Express Nachos Plus right about now. I’ve been craving Nachos Plus just about every second of my life since I left the dorms. KC can help me feed the addiction. I will gladly help her gain the freshmen 15. Which will look like the “Senioritis 20” on me and the “15 POUNDS OF SOLID MUSCLE CUZ MY WHOLE BODY IS A WEAPON” on her.

All the Faulkner children will now reside in one city for the first time since 2006. Who would like to start placing bets as to how long it takes for my parents to move back?

I’m better start compiling a list of all the things I want to show KC when she comes to Madison. That will make for one excellent nostalgic blog post – just in time to make the 2012 grads cry. 

About Melissa Faulkner

1. If I blog, someone will eventually discover me. 2. If someone eventually discovers me, I will become rich and famous. 3. If I blog, I will become rich and famous. Follow me for shorter, daily doses! @melisslyss
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bubba Badger

  1. Karina says:

    Love the “aint no flubba on this bubba.” I defiantly remember her saying that at the age of 6 or so and shaking her finger and head in unison like she was all that!

Leave a Reply

