Games With Friends (GWF)

No, “Games With Friends” is not the latest and greatest app for your smart phone. And playing games is not some urban dictionary reference, like “Shana wrote Barry a love note then flirted with Chris at the bar the entire night. That hoe be playin’ games.” I am talking about good, old-fashioned fun. And not the corrupted kind of fun either, where every game you can possibly imagine has keg stands or body shots built in to the rules. My five roommates and I sat down in our living room tonight, after a long and cold first day of classes, and played Taboo.

Consciously engaging in board games with your friends is similar to bowling. Someone is always suggesting it, in an attempt to reconnect with childhood innocence or something. “OH EM GEE LET’S GO BOWLING!”…”AWW THAT WOULD BE SO CUTE!” And then it is 9:30 PM and everyone is in the room starting at each other and there are 85 reasons why we should just go to Regent Street Retreat instead. When the idea of “Roomie Game Night” was proposed, I was definitely weary. My 85 reasons all had something to do with needing to finish the Hunger Games Trilogy. But after some persistence , the TV was turned off and Taboo was out on the table.

Only 3 of the 6 of us have ever played Taboo. Go figure. #90sgirlproblems

At first you start off all intense. With rules. And Teams. And Points. And the crazy buzzer Nazi that peers over your shoulder, ready to beep you at any moment should you even mention a syllable from the restricted word list (Thanks, Jenn!). And then you start getting in to the crazy clues that only friends could have, such as…

“…we were talking about this earlier…”

“PEEING IN THE SHOWER!”

Shower! Ding ding ding. We have a winner.

And then reality sets in. Like phone calls from parents or plans with significant others or registering for MyAccountingLab (barf). Or literally – reality sets in. Like the Real Housewives of Beverly Hills finale. And Roomie Game Night is over and done in less than 20 minutes. But like bowling, it always turns out to be worth it. If you can just motivate yourself to actually do it. I’m lucky enough to have roommates that seem to know what I need before I need it. I am simultaneously lucky to have roommates who wish they were still 12 the majority of the time. But it is for this reason that I love living with them. More Roomie Game Nights for all! And to all, a good night.

Next week’s game: Deluxe Uno. I’ve been known to kick an arse or two in Deluxe Uno, so come join the Bowen Babes for game night if you think you are up to it. 

 

About Melissa Faulkner

1. If I blog, someone will eventually discover me. 2. If someone eventually discovers me, I will become rich and famous. 3. If I blog, I will become rich and famous. Follow me for shorter, daily doses! @melisslyss
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

