home away from home

I never really go “home” for the holidays. I’d have to say that Madison is the closest thing to home these days, so technically I am home all the time. Lucky me! I graduated from a high school in California but my parents moved to Boston that same summer and pretty much just pushed me out the plane on the way. I landed in Madison. After having lived so many different places while growing up, I have to say that there are far worse places to call home than Wisco. This year my family made a make-shift home about 20 minutes northwest of Madison at a glorious place known as “The Farm.” You won’t find cows, chickens, or edible corn out here, but you will find some pretty amazing people that have adopted me and my brother as their children. My adopted family has become extremely close with my real family, and the whole crew got together for Thanksgiving this year.

Now, don’t be deceived by such a humble name – The Farm. This place is a 6 bedroom mansion equipped with a home theater, weight room, sauna, steam room, and plenty of comfy couches to go around. PLUS ATVs!!!! Nothing scarier than watching my mother take on the rolling hills in this baby. We were worried she may never get off to finish the turkey.

 

After seeing the spread that was created, I can’t believe how grateful I am for double the family and double the love this holiday. After all, home is where you are loved. And all this rich food found home in my belly in record time…

 

About Melissa Faulkner

1. If I blog, someone will eventually discover me. 2. If someone eventually discovers me, I will become rich and famous. 3. If I blog, I will become rich and famous. Follow me for shorter, daily doses! @melisslyss
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

